DIY Faux Fur Boot Covers

bootsOne of the big advantages of working at Custom Photo Props is that we have a surplus of faux fur fabric that we get to create new apparel or décor with. Read our how-to and follow our step by step guide on how to cover your own winter boots with our furs.

I recently covered a pair of little girl boots after my daughter came home from school and told me how her friend had fur at the top of her boots. You know, the standard style winter boots you see at all of the stores. Nothing, kick-butt and custom made, like I made her last year. Before winter started I asked her if she wanted her boots covered again like last year. She politely declined. That changed when she knew that she had the ability to top her friend’s boring factory-assembled fur boots.

These are seriously the easiest things to make if you are a tiny bit crafty and have a few essentials.

  • Hot glue gun
  • Faux Fur purchased from Custom Photo Props
  • Needle and thread
  • Fabric scissors
  • Measuring tape
  • Boots
  • Fabric crayon

**Note: A Basket stuffer sized fur ($28.00) is plenty to cover an average size women’s boots. If you are doing these for a child you would have enough to do several pairs. If your sole purpose is to craft for boots and you are not repurposing an old faux fur of yours please message us and ask if we have any scraps. We will often sell them at a discount inquiries@customphotoprops.com. Of course, this would be a limited color selection.

Lay your fur belly-side-up on your craft table. Measure the ankle/leg width of your boots, along with the height. Copy those measurements onto your fur. Leave an extra one full inch in the width so the sides can overlap. Cut through the backing of the fur. Try your hardest to not cut the fur but only the backing.

You can do this one of two ways. Turn your fur inside out and hand sew the ends of the fur together. This method will allow your boot covers to be removable. Or you can do what I did. I like quick. I like easy. The way that I assembled my boot and fur covers is by using hot glue. I glued my ends together and then I glued them onto the boot. This is permanent and there will be no removal of the fur. Of course, I could probably remove it and replace it with new fur but there would be no going back to being furless after you put that glue on the boot.

My DIY faux fur boot cover project took me a whole ten minutes.

As you can see here, my daughter is now the coolest girl in her school and mom is also a little cooler for making the boots.

For all of your faux fur needs visit www.customphotoprops.com and enjoy functional, quality products that ship within 24 hours.

Leave a Reply

