Exposure: Interview Series

exposure
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    Happy Happy Friday!! Hope you all had a wonderful week have exciting plans for the weekend 🙂  Today for our Exposure Interview we’re happy to introduce Kelly Ross, a trusted colleague of ours. You can find some of her work on our own website as product photos. Scroll on down to learn more about her and her business!
1)      Who are you and where are you located?
I am Kelly Ross of Kelly Ross Photography. I am located in Agawam, MA and a second studio in Simsbury, CT
2)      Do you have a home studio, rented space, or are you on location?
I have a 900 sq foot studio in Agawam, MA and a 1000 sq ft studio in Simsbury, CT
3)      What subjects are your primary focus and which do you enjoy shooting the most?
My specialty is Newborns I love everything about capturing those first photos of new little ones.
4)      There are so many different kinds of camera’s out there! What do you use and how did you decide on that particular one?
I shoot with a Nikon D700…. I upgraded in the past to a D800 and even tried out a D4… I still went back to my D700!!!
5)      While we’re talking about equipment, what lens do you prefer to use and why?
My go to Lens is the Sigma Art series lens 35 mm 1.4 … I use it for all in studio sessions. My go to for outside sessions is my Nikkon 70-200 VR2 2.8
6)      We hear a lot of debate on natural light vs. studio light, what are your thoughts on the subject?
This is a hard one for me. I ADORE natural light… my last studio space had 30 ft ceilings and a wall of 14 ft windows… the natural light is like no other (as long as you have a good day- overcast days can be killer) switching over to my new Agawam, MA studio I had to go to studio light- I use a Einstein with a 86″ PLM…. it is a nice replacement for natural light and very consistent… has made editing more consistent. In my CT studio I am able to do both studio and natural!!!
7)      How did you learn to be a photographer?
I always had a camera in my hand. I interned for a wedding photographer in college after taking some photography courses and always felt it was something I wanted to do. When I had my 3rd child in 2008 she became my every day subject and friends starting asking me to take photos of their kids. I took some classes to brush up on the new age of digital and by 2009 I started my business. Back then there were no posing workshops and for prop shopping you had to be super creative as Etsy didn’t exist. Finding shops like custom photo props has been amazing for my business!!!!  I have since taken many workshops as I am always trying to perfect my skills. And I even offering mentoring to many photographers starting out.
8)      What or who inspires you? Do you have a photographer you look up to?
To pick just one photographer who inspires me would be impossible. My original passion for babies comes from Anne Geddes…. and I do like to credit my drive of being a motivate mama from Ana Brandt of Taopan. When I started you couldn’t even google newborn photography and find anything other than Anne or little video clips of Ana shooting maternity or babies in her home studio. I thought if she can make that space work so can I. I later became friends with her and consider her an amazing mentor!!! I also consider Sabine Brandt (no relation to Ana lol) from Living Dreams Photography Workshop to be life changing with my newborn posing.
9)      When you’re doing a photoshoot or working an event, what is your favorite part?
My favorite part of any newborn session is when Mom or dad hand their precious week out little baby to me and almost every single mom says- he/she hates being naked and I hope you can get some shots. I love to then have them sit back and watch me work as I not only get some shots but 40-50 final images of their sweet baby in poses they never dreamed their baby would do!!!
10)   What have you struggled with the most while having a career as a professional photographer? Any tips for somebody who is just starting out?
The biggest thing I struggle with is the business side of things in a over saturated market. Staying true to what I think my value is and offering the best I can even though sometimes parents are just looking at cost. My advice is to stay strong when starting out and never under value your time just because the person next door is giving it away. Take a business course- Heidi Hopes business workshop changed my world and helped me look at this from the technical side- the side we would rather think doesn’t exist. But to stay successful you have to make sure you are doing things the best way!
11)   Do you have any unconventional tips or tricks for getting your little clients to cooperate during a shoot?
When working with newborns everything I do is pretty typical in terms of making sure moms and dads are prepped ahead of time to have the most successful session. If they follow my directions its almost always a win!!!
12)   Where would you like to see your company in the next five years?
I would like to focus more on newborns only and be able to hire in a couple associate photographers to take over the children’s sessions!!!
                                                                                                                                                                                www.kellyrossphotography.com
Thanks Kelly!!
www.Kelly Ross Photography.com www.Kelly Ross Photography.com

Leave a Reply

