Exposure : Interview Series

exposure
It’s Thursday, so that means the weekend is almost here! Who else is excited to go outside and enjoy some nice weather and eat some BBQ for Memorial Day??   Today with our Exposure Interview, I’d like you to meet Buena Farrell. I think we can all relate to her answer for number 10, and I know I’ll definitely be looking up that class!
1)      Who are you and where are you located?
Buena Farrell of Buena Farrell Photography in Ellsworth WI.
2)      Do you have a home studio, rented space, or are you on location?
 I just moved into the most amazing building in my town.   It’s a 119 year old brick building with the original hardwood floors and tons of character.  Located on the Main St of my town.  It was a bank at one point and still have the 2 vault doors.  🙂   I also shoot on location during the nicer months of the year which are really limited to May- Sept 😉
3)      What subjects are your primary focus and which do you enjoy shooting the most?
My primary focus is children and newborns.   Newborns are definitely my favorite though and if I could shoot them exclusively I would be in heaven.
4)      There are so many different kinds of camera’s out there! What do you use and how did you decide on that particular one?
I shoot with a Nikon D700.  When I first started I was shooting Canon and my best friend was shooting Nikon so I decided to switch so we could share lenses.  🙂
5)      While we’re talking about equipment, what lens do you prefer to use and why?
 I always shoot with my 50mm 1.4 in studio and my 85mm 1.8 for outdoor sessions.   I started using a macro lens for my newborn session and I’m using a 60mm 2.8.  I have tried using the 24-70mm which is a beautiful lens but I’m a prime girl and I just couldn’t get use to shooting with a zoom lens.
6)      We hear a lot of debate on natural light vs. studio light, what are your thoughts on the subject?
 When I first started I was strictly natural light just because I couldn’t afford a light set up and I didn’t have any where to put it since I was shooting in my living room.  I have since switched to studio lights for when I’m shooting in my studio and obviously natural light when I’m outside.  My studio does have a good amount of beautiful natural light but I still prefer the studio lights especially on those gloomy days or if I’m shooting in the evening.
7)      How did you learn to be a photographer?
 I just did. 🙂   LOTS and LOTS of reading and researching and screwing up and then figuring it out.   I didn’t have any training on becoming a photographer but I have attended a few workshops to help me take my photography to the next step.
8)      What or who inspires you? Do you have a photographer you look up to?
When I first started in photography I was in awe of Kelley Ryden and Tracey Raver.  They have so many amazing set ups.   My favorite newborn photograph would have to be Sabine from Living Dreams Photography.  I actually met her a few years ago at Kelley & Tracey’s workshop and it has been wonderful to watch her become this amazing photographer.  I love everything about her work!
9)      When you’re doing a photoshoot or working an event, what is your favorite part?
When I’m shooting newborns I just love everything about them.  Their tiny little part, the way they smell and I love cuddling with them too.  When I’m shooting children I love just trying to make them laugh and have fun at the session.   Play silly games, sing songs and just have fun and be goofy.
10)   What have you struggled with the most while having a career as a professional photographer? Any tips for somebody who is just starting out?
 I’ve struggled with the business side of things.  Every year I tell myself I’m going to be more organized but that doesn’t happen.   I took Rachel Benke’s online workshop and I’d say that was so helpful.  I actually wish I would have taken it when I first started and not 4 years into my business.
11)   Do you have any unconventional tips or tricks for getting your little clients to cooperate during a shoot?
 Chuck the chicken.  🙂  He’s a squeaky dog toy but man the kids love him.
12)   Where would you like to see your company in the next five years?
Oh gosh this is tough!   I’d love to see myself focus more on newborn and babies.  I’m hoping that I can become a better business women and be more organized.
Thanks Buena!!
customphotoprops.com
exposure1 exposure2

Leave a Reply

