Exposure : Interview Series

exposure
Hello again, everybody!  Thanks so much for keeping up with Exposure : Interview Series. We absolutely love getting to know more about our customers and sharing their work with the rest of you.  🙂
That being said, today I’d like to introduce you to Belinda Schenk-Sol. Keep reading to learn more about her and her business- I especially enjoy her vision for the future of her company!
1)      Who are you and where are you located?
My name Is Belinda Schenk-Sol, and I am owner and photographer of Belinda Sol Photography.
2)      Do you have a home studio, rented space, or are you on location?
I currently am renting my own studio space where I do most of my work but also offer on location and outdoor sessions.
3)      What subjects are your primary focus and which do you enjoy shooting the most?
My primary focus and what I enjoy putting most of my time into is newborn photography. I find it my passion to be able to calm and sooth a baby and be able to pose them and show off their natural beauty for their parents to hold on to as sweet memories for years to come.
4)      There are so many different kinds of camera’s out there! What do you use and how did you decide on that particular one?
I am a very simple gal and enjoy shooting with my Canon EOS 600D. This camera has always felt the most natural to me and I have thought about upgrading but I just cant seem to leave this old friend behind! =)
5)      While we’re talking about equipment, what lens do you prefer to use and why?
My favorite lens to use has got to be the 50mm. I have a variety of other lenses but this seems to always be my “go to” lens for most everything.
6)      We hear a lot of debate on natural light vs. studio light, what are your thoughts on the subject?
I only shoot with natural light. I have dabbled a little into studio lighting in the past and just find it something I don’t feel is the right feel for me. I love being able to be moved by gorgeous light whether it may be a beautiful golden evening outdoors or a stunningly lit afternoon in my studio. I don’t think there is a better way by natural light or studio lighting, I feel that whatever you feel most inspired with and comfortable with is the best choice for you, and for me it is natural light.
7)      How did you learn to be a photographer?
I am completely self taught. I have always enjoyed photography since I was a little girl, and one day I just bought my first big girl camera and decided to play around with it and research as much as I could to learn everything possible to constantly improve my skills and knowledge about all aspects of photography. I feel it is constantly evolving and adapting and something I will always be amazed with, constantly growing and learning everything I can.
8)      What or who inspires you? Do you have a photographer you look up to?
My 3 boys and my husband inspire me every day, constantly giving me encouragement and support in everything I do. I wouldn’t be where I am today without them. As far as a photographer that inspires me I would have to say Ana Brandt. I have always looked up to her for inspiration with her newborn photography. She is simply amazing.
9)      When you’re doing a photoshoot or working an event, what is your favorite part?

I enjoy every moment of my newborn sessions. From the moment we book to the first time I get to hold that precious little baby in my arms. To have the complete trust of these new mommies in me with their new loves. I find it so peaceful to be able to have these tiny babies fall asleep in my arms and for me to be able to witness such perfect natural beauty is almost unbelievable to me that this is my job!
10)   What have you struggled with the most while having a career as a professional photographer? Any tips for somebody who is just starting out?
My toughest struggle has to be that I am my own worst critic. I am constantly following so many photographers and prop companies and photography equipment sites, it can get a little overwhelming to feel like im not as good as this person or as amazing as that photographer. But in the end I am me, and no one else can be me. This is my passion and I wouldn’t trade it for the world.
 I would suggest to someone starting out to be confident in their own vision and style. Never stop trying to learn and be a better photographer for what moves you but don’t let it overwhelm you. Everyone, even the best out there, was a beginner at some point and it is a great goal to have to always try to achieve the best you can be.
11)   Do you have any unconventional tips or tricks for getting your little clients to cooperate during a shoot?
I don’t really have any tips that aren’t out there already. I typically just have my studio pretty warm, and use a white noise sound off of an app on my phone. I am extremely patient when it comes to my newbies and children so maybe just stay calm, take all safety precautions necessary and be confident in yourself.
12)   Where would you like to see your company in the next five years?
In 5 years I see my company growing into a larger studio. I would love to have learned even more by then to be able to offer internships and classes to be able to share with other people wanting to learn the art of newborn photography. I hope to continue to move forward and be the go to photographer for babies in my little town in South Texas =) I don’t ask for much, just to continue to have the support of my wonderful family and amazing clients I have had the opportunity to work with =)

I absolutely LOVE every single product I have ordered from Custom Photo Props. Not only the products are amazing but the customer service was absolutely the best. Everyone was always so very kind and was quick to respond to any questions I have ever had.

Thanks, Belinda!!
Apollo Blue Faux Flokati                                                                  Hay Curly Sheep Fuax Fur
IMG_5188IMG_5343L

Leave a Reply

