Exposure: Interview Series

exposure
TGIF!! Hope you have all had a busy and productive week like we did here at Custom Photo Props.
Today, I’m happy to introduce you all to Kassi from Little Willow Photography. She’s got some fantastic ideas for the future of her business- scroll down to read more.
1)      Who are you and where are you located?
Hello My name is Kassi Reuther and I am the owner of
Little Willow Photography located in Reno, Nevada, USA
2)      Do you have a home studio, rented space, or are you on location?

I have a studio in downtown Reno.
The majority of my sessions are done in studio, but I do offer an in home session for an additional fee.

3)      What subjects are your primary focus and which do you enjoy shooting the most?
Little Willow Photography specializes in maternity and newborn portraiture.   I enjoy photographing newborns the most but do follow the family throw the first year and beyond if they choose.
4)      There are so many different kinds of camera’s out there! What do you use and how did you decide on that particular one?
I use a Canon 5D Mark III.   To be honest I had already a lot of money invested in photography when I decided to create a business and upgrade my camera.  So I just stuck with the same brand.  As time has gone by I would love to convert to Nikon in the future when finances allow it.
5)      While we’re talking about equipment, what lens do you prefer to use and why?
I currently favor the Sigma 35mm 1.4 Art.  I love this lens!  I enjoy the fact that it is so sharp, as well as the fact that I am still in arms length of any newborn or child that I am photographing.
6)      We hear a lot of debate on natural light vs. studio light, what are your thoughts on the subject?

I will be honest light is light, regardless of whether it is by the sun or man made.  When you have light you can create the same pieces of art.   I prefer to work with studio lighting as am not limited by the time of day or the posing preference of my little clients.

7)      How did you learn to be a photographer?
I have learned in various ways.  I took a few classes here in there while in college to give my academics diversity.  Once I graduated from college I just practiced and studio online images and material.  Then in January 2013, I decided it was time to take a newborn workshop with Meshelle Photography.  After that I have just been doing my normal practice and studying images that I feel are inspirational.  I have now decided to up my game with artificial light and mentor with Kirsten from Son Kissed Photography.
8)      What or who inspires you? Do you have a photographer you look up to?
I am inspired by so many photographers.  I think we all have our vary own still.  I love the macro and face images that Erin Elizabeth creates.  I love the simplicity and beautiful light of Son Kissed Photography.   There are just so many great things about so many great newborn photographers.
9)      When you’re doing a photoshoot or working an event, what is your favorite part?

I love working and modeling precious little newborns.  My joy comes from the parents expressions when they see their amazing pieces of art.

10)   What have you struggled with the most while having a career as a professional photographer? Any tips for somebody who is just starting out?

I struggle with the business aspect of being a professional photographer.   Running a business can be complicated at times and it defiantly takes more time then you would ever imagine starting out.

11)   Do you have any unconventional tips or tricks for getting your little clients to cooperate during a shoot?

I have all of my parents prep there babies for the hour or so before the session.  I feel that having my parents prep the babies really does help my workflow and timing of a session.

12)   Where would you like to see your company in the next five years?

I would like to expand my business to be a newborn experience, not only with my newborn work but a large amount of photographers all working together to provide a standard of quality in our community.   I would love to have a studio that has all the props and accessories that newborn photographers have that can be shared and rented for part time photographers.  I also would love to have a space for those part time photographers to safely photography newborn and baby clients.

MarchWorkshop_0061little-willow-photography_reno-newborn-photographer_sleeping-newborn-boy_8
Thank you, Kassi!!

Leave a Reply

