Exposure : Interview Series

exposure
Greeting ladies and gents! Today in the Exposure Interview Series I have the pleasure of introducing you to Jen from Studio 1020. I love her answer to question 9. So sweet. 🙂
1)      Who are you and where are you located?
I’m Jen Uthoff, owner of Studio 1020, and I’m located in northeast Iowa.
2)      Do you have a home studio, rented space, or are you on location?
I photograph newborns and babies in my home and everything else on location.
3)      What subjects are your primary focus and which do you enjoy shooting the most?
I photograph maternity, newborns, kids, families, and weddings. I love everything I photograph, but newborns and babies are probably my favorites.
4)      There are so many different kinds of camera’s out there! What do you use and how did you decide on that particular one?
I’ve always been a Nikon shooter. My first camera was a Nikon, so when I upgraded it was an easy decision to stick with Nikon! I currently shoot with a D600.
5)      While we’re talking about equipment, what lens do you prefer to use and why?
My absolute favorite lens is my 50 mm f/1.8 – I use it for just about everything! I also love the 105 mm f/2.8 macro for detail shots of newborns and weddings.
6)      We hear a lot of debate on natural light vs. studio light, what are your thoughts on the subject?
I think it’s extremely important to know how to handle both natural and studio light. I personal use studio light for newborns and babies in my home studio, natural light when I’m outdoors on location, and both natural light and studio light for weddings.
7)      How did you learn to be a photographer?
I graduated from the Professional Photography program at Hawkeye Community College in Waterloo, Iowa. It’s an AMAZING program!
8)      What or who inspires you? Do you have a photographer you look up to?
I find inspiration in a lot of different places. Nature, my daughter, music – inspiration is everywhere! I find a lot of encouragement in looking at my past work and seeing how far I’ve come and how I’ve grown as an artist. I just strive everyday to be a better photographer than I was the day before. There are so many photographers I look up to – it’s inspiring to see passionate people living their dreams!
9)      When you’re doing a photoshoot or working an event, what is your favorite part?
I love being able to capture real moments! Newborn yawns and sleepy smiles, a kiss stolen between bride and groom, toddlers dancing at a wedding reception… it’s the most amazing feeling!
10)   What have you struggled with the most while having a career as a professional photographer? Any tips for somebody who is just starting out?
I’m still new to the photography business – but my tip for budding photographers is practice, practice, practice! Have that camera in your hands every day. Play with different settings on your camera. Read your camera manual. Don’t compare yourself to others. Never stop learning.
11)   Do you have any unconventional tips or tricks for getting your little clients to cooperate during a shoot?
I just use the tried and true tips I was taught! Full tummies, tight wraps, a warm studio, white noise, a lots of shushing 🙂
12)   Where would you like to see your company in the next five years?

I would just like to see my company continue to grow! I’d like to increase my clientele and be able to get a bigger studio space.

I love Custom Photo Props! It’s my #1 place for wraps and furs – seriously, they are the best! Incredible selection, awesome sales, fast shipping, the softest furs… I can’t say enough about how much I love CPP! 

https://www.facebook.com/studio.1020.photo

http://studio1020photo.zenfolio.com/

Thanks Jen!!

6[1]

1[1]

Leave a Reply

