Exposure: Interview Series

exposure

Happy Monday, everybody! Hope everybody had a wonderful and relaxing weekend. Today in our interview series, we’re hearing from Heather Armijo – so scroll on down to learn about the lady behind the lens.

1)      Who are you and where are you located?

I’m Heather the woman behind the camera at Heather Armijo Photography located in Katy, Texas (a suburb just outside Houston)

2)      Do you have a home studio, rented space, or are you on location?

I have a newly expanded home studio that I’m so excited about! I’ve just about doubled my space, giving me the opportunity to have multiple set-ups ready to go at the same time.

3)      What subjects are your primary focus and which do you enjoy shooting the most?

My focus is on newborn sessions, they are definitely my passion but I also focus my attention on maternity sessions and photographing my newborn clients through their baby’s first year.

4)      There are so many different kinds of camera’s out there! What do you use and how did you decide on that particular one?

I received a hand-me-down Canon when I enrolled in a photojournalism class in high school and have stuck with the brand ever since. (Go Canon!) Today, I shoot with a Canon 5D mark ii.

5)      While we’re talking about equipment, what lens do you prefer to use and why?

For my newborn sessions I use the Canon 50mm 1.2. Love the sharpness and clarity I get with that lens. I also use my Tamron 24-70 for prop shots so I can stay very close but still get everything I need into the frame.

6)      We hear a lot of debate on natural light vs. studio light, what are your thoughts on the subject?

There’s definitely a beautiful soft and dreamy feel when natural light is used correctly but the consistency and perfection I get from my studio lights makes it my top choice. However, I don’t think there’s a right or wrong choice- do what fits your style and your business! Plus, I get to use natural light for my outdoor sessions, so I feel like I get the best of both worlds!

7)      How did you learn to be a photographer?

I learned the technical side of photography in my photojournalism class back in high school. There’s still nothing quite as exhilarating as processing your own images in a dark room and I hope to one day get to venture back into film photography. Years later, when I became a Mom, I took a refresher course from a local photographer and re-discovered my love of the art which eventually led to my business.

8)      What or who inspires you? Do you have a photographer you look up to?

My six kids are definitely my inspiration. Whether it be images I WISH I had of them, or ideas that come to me when I’m surrounded by their laughter. They re-charge me and remind me why I love to document these moments for other parents. I admire Kristen of SonKissed Photography- her attention to detail and perfect poses continues to awe me. I also love Sandra Hill Photography- her style is different than mine, it’s so natural and beautiful!

9)      When you’re doing a photoshoot or working an event, what is your favorite part?

When I know I’ve made that connection with my subject. With my expectant mommies, it’s when I can see they’ve loosened up and trust me to document this special time. They really let their excited glow shine through. With newborns it’s when they’ve drifted off to sleep. I feel like they are thinking, “she’s okay with me, I’ll go ahead and let her do her thing” and I get to pose and photograph them.

10)   What have you struggled with the most while having a career as a professional photographer? Any tips for somebody who is just starting out?

Starting out I struggled with balance. There’s so much more that goes into running a successful business than you originally plan. My idea of being completely “booked” has changed significantly. I don’t need to take on every project, just the ones that inspire me or fit into my specialty. I’m much happier now that I have learned to pass on projects to those who are better suited for it than me. here’s a thought for those starting out, trying to do it all… If I focus all my energy and education on newborns, it makes sense that I may not be the best person to photograph a rock concert- right? Find what you love and do it well!

11)   Do you have any unconventional tips or tricks for getting your little clients to cooperate during a shoot?

I guess the only thing I can think of is I sometimes put the entire palm of my hand on baby’s forehead and softly move it down over their eyebrows to help them fall asleep. That may be common knowledge, but I’m not sure!

12)   Where would you like to see your company in the next five years?

In five years I hope to offer more elaborate, complex set-ups as well as outdoor newborn images. Since I live in Texas, there is no shortage of warm weather and I really hope to utilize it soon!

I absolutely LOVE what I’ve ordered from Custom Photo Props. They are always amazing quality and add a great look and texture to my images!

Heather Armijo
www.heatherarmijophotography.com
832.868.7067

Thank you, Heather! ❤


web5875web-7308

2 thoughts on “Exposure: Interview Series

Leave a Reply

