Exposure: An Interview Series

exposure

Hi again! The second photographer in our interview series is another one that’s not far from us here in western New York! Keep scrolling to learn more about Katie Boser 🙂

1)      Who are you and where are you located?

 My name is Katie from Katie Boser Photography and I am located in Franklinville NY.

­­­­­­

2)      Do you have a home studio, rented space, or are you on location?

 I have a home studio in my home all year round.

3)      What subjects are your primary focus and which do you enjoy shooting the most?

 This year I finally decided to take the leap and eliminate things that I just did not enjoy photographing. We don’t all need to be “I photography everything photographer”. My primary focus always changes with the season. During winter it is usually mostly children under 5, in the summers my focus is mostly weddings, and then fall for family photos.  Of course there is always itty bitty babies! All of which I enjoy!

4)      There are so many different kinds of camera’s out there! What do you use and how did you decide on that particular one?

 I currently photography with a 5D Mark III. (and believe me I almost had a heart attack when I clicked purchase). I choose this camera because I really liked the 61 cross-type AV Points. I felt very limited with the 12 I had in my 60D. I also liked the increase of ISO.

5)      While we’re talking about equipment, what lens do you prefer to use and why?

 Lets talk equipment! My current go to lens is my Tameron 24-80 2.8 DIVC. I purchased this over the canon at the time for its image stabilizer. Its currently my go to lens in my studio. I also really love my canon 50 1.2!

6)      We hear a lot of debate on natural light vs. studio light, what are your thoughts on the subject?

 Natural Light vs Studio Light. My thoughts are do what you love. There is no right or wrong. They both have different looks and it all depends on what your comfortable with. I shoot 100% studio light. I like the consistency. It also depends on your session. I find when photographing couples they get all nervous and feel like they are on center stage in studio. Therefore I prefer to photograph all clients over the age of 5 outdoors in the natural light.

7)      How did you learn to be a photographer?

 I am a self taught photographer. I learned from books, photo magazines, camera manuals, youtube, blogs and a stuffed animals. I learn by practice so after my son went to sleep I took his stuffed animals, placed them on set and started learning. I started of on Auto and within 3 months I was a full manual photographer.

8)      What or who inspires you? Do you have a photographer you look up to?

I think we all can say Meg Bitton. I like her work for what she stands for. She really helps other photographers discover who they are and that you can find beauty anywhere. Does she do therapy on the side?! I currently am in love with Leah Robinsons work as well. I find her to be a little more like my style and how I want to advance my work.

9)      When you’re doing a photoshoot or working an event, what is your favorite part?

 My favorite part is capturing things people don’t notice. I love that after everything is done clients tell me “I never even knew that happened”, “I cant believe you caught her smile” etc.

10)   What have you struggled with the most while having a career as a professional photographer? Any tips for somebody who is just starting out?

 I think my main struggle was always thinking I had to be like someone. Still to this day its hard to look at my image and think is this okay? Did I do this angle right? The first 2 years of my business I was more focused on trying to become someone else that I lost sight of who I wanted to be as a photographer. It took a while but eventually I developed my own style and I try to stay true to myself. There is nothing more rewarding than putting yourself out there and being happier doing what you love. It reflects. My tips for photographers just starting out.. find your place in photography. Don’t be a carbon-copy.

11)   Do you have any unconventional tips or tricks for getting your little clients to cooperate during a shoot?

 Little mini marshmallow! Also currently singing any frozen song! My significant other makes funny voices or faces and kids love it. My method is mostly go with the flow. Many kids do not want to sit there. I try to take little breaks so that they don’t get overwhelmed.

12)   Where would you like to see your company in the next five years

Good question.. in 5 years.. I think my goal would be to open a studio. Or purchase some land where I can design the perfect greenery. My “go to” spot.  Either one of these will be taking place. I will defiantly be able to nail those photos I have dreamed about, also double my income. Most importantly in 5 years I would like to be still where I am today being a photographer  because being able to do what I love is something I am very blessed with.

Also,

I wanted to include that I highly recommend Custom Photo Props. Its worth every penny. My favorite is the basket stuffer. For just about every session I place one on the floor drop and have the little ones sit on it (6m-2yrs). They love to rub the fur and it keeps them still! They are my go to prop for every sessions!

Katie Boser Photography

www.facebook.com/KatieBoserPhotography

KBP_9168aaa kbp-Landon5www.customphotoprops.com/Apollo-Blue-Faux-Flokati-Fur

Thanks, Katie!!

Leave a Reply

